

The 8th National Symposium in Chemistry, **NSC-8** will be held at the **Indian Institute of Technology Bombay** from **February 3-5, 2006**, under the auspices of the Chemical Research Society of India (CRSI). The annual conference is in keeping with the broad objective of CRSI that recognizes and encourages high quality chemical research and education in all facets of chemistry. The CRSI was conceptualized in 1999 at a National Symposium in Chemistry meeting held at IISc Bangalore in connection with the celebration of India's 50 year of independence. In subsequent years NSC were held at IICT (Hyderabad), Punjab University (Chandigarh), NCL (Pune), CLRI (Chennai), IIT (Kanpur) and IACS (Kolkata).

NSC-8 endeavours to provide a forum to deliberate on various issues in the frontier areas of chemical sciences. Through this meeting, CRSI aims to share the excitement in research in chemical sciences with young scientists, teachers and students.

NSC-8 will include both invited lectures and poster presentations. Many eminent chemists from within India and abroad will deliver lectures in this meeting. One or two microsymposia on selected topics and a few public lectures are also included in this year's schedule. Interested researchers, young scientists, teachers and students are cordially invited to participate in the symposium.

Participants interested in presenting a poster are requested to submit a one page abstract as per the format guidelines. A template of the same will be provided in the upcoming conference web site shortly. Senior author's name may be indicated by an asterisk and the presenting author's name be underlined. All abstracts should be uploaded to the conference web site as an MSWORD document file. The last date for submitting the abstract is **September 30, 2005.**

Registration

NSC-8 Registration Fees are as given below

1. Delegate (Industry)	Rs. 5000/-
2. Delegate (Academic)	Rs. 1000/-
3. Annual Member	Rs. 500/-
4. Student Delegate	Rs. 250/-
5. Life Member*	Nil.

Please complete the online registration at http://www.nsc8.chem.iitb.ac.in and send the registration fee by post to *The Convener*, *NSC-8* latest by **September 30, 2005**. The registration fee should be paid by a demand draft drawn in favour of "NSC-8" payable at Mumbai.

The abstract for posters may be uploaded directly to the above web site. **Important:** Only one poster per research group (principal investigator) shall be considered.

(* All life members are requested to complete the online registration before the deadline).

Accommodation

Limited accommodation may be made available for registered participants **on advance payment basis** on IITB campus and nearby institutions/hostels.

Correspondence

All correspondence may please be addressed to:

The Convener 8th National Symposium in Chemistry Department of Chemistry Indian Institute of Technology Bombay Powai, Mumbai 400076

Fax: + 22 2576 7152

E-mail: nsc8@chem.iitb.ac.in

Format for Abstract

TITLE (14 PT BOLD, CENTERED)

Presenting Author, Other Authors, Senior Author* (12 Point, Normal)

Department Name, Institute name, Institute address,

(10 point, Normal)

e-mail: (9 point, normal)

The one page abstract should be typed in 10 point, Times New Roman, normal font, single space. Use A4 size paper with margins- top: 2 inches; bottom: 2 inches; left: 2 inches; and right: 2 inches. Cite the references in parentheses e.g. Kotha *et al.* [1]. References should be typed in 9 point, normal font, and single space. The entire abstract including text, figures and equations must be sent as a MSWORD DOC file. The printed area should be 4.5 in. (W) x 7 in (L).

REFERENCES (10 point, bold)

- 1. S. Kotha, K. Lahiri, K. Dhurke *Tetrahedron*, 2002, **58**, 9633. [9 point, normal]
- 2. S. N. Datta, "Lecture Notes on Chemical Bonding and Quantum Chemistry," (Prism Book Pvt. Ltd., Bangalore, 1998).

Local Organizing Committee

A Kumar

G K Lahiri

Local Olgai			
Patrons	M Ambani S Banerjee S Bhattacharya R Chidambaram	G Govil V Khole A S Kolaskar R A Mashelkar	A Misra J P Mittal M M Sharma S Sivaram
Chairman	M K Mishra		
Convener	A Q Contractor		
Co-conveners	S Durani RV Hosur	T Mukherjee C P Rao	
Treasurer	R Murugavel		
Members	D Bahadur S Bhaduri A Datta S N Datta K D Deodhar P Ghosh V K Jain K P Kaliappan N Kishore S Kotha	S Major P Mathur B H Mehta I N N Namboothiri G N Patwari V Ramgopal Rao K K Rao S D Samant Y U Sasidhar P Selvam	V K Singh R B Sunoj AK Suresh B L Tembe

A K Singh

H B Singh

Office Bearers of CRSI

Founder President C N R Rao Past President G Mehta

President A Chakravorty

Vice-Presidents H Ila K Nagarajan S Sivaram

V Krishnan T Ramasami

Vice-President/Gen.

ecretary

S Chandrasekaran

Secretary U Maitra

Treasurer K Bhattacharya

Jt Treasurer B C Ranu

Jt Secretaries S Goswami S K Ghosh

K N Ganesh K C Kumara Swamy